Apps News

Facebook admits: Bug accidentally unblocks users on more than 800,000 accounts

Have you ever blocked anyone on Facebook? Facebook might have unblocked the users from your account. Facebook announced on Monday that due to a bug, blocked people were unblocked on more than 800,000 accounts of Facebook. The Facebook said that bug was active from 29th May to 5th June. Facebook was not aware of the bug until 31st May. Facebook made the announcement after resolving the bug issue. They started informing 800,000 users after fixing the bug. Facebook also wrote a blog to notify users about the bug that accidentally unblocked people from users’ account.

Facebook’s Chief Privacy Officer Erin Egan said in the blog – “We know the ability to block someone is important. There are many reasons why people block another person on Facebook. While someone who was blocked could not see content shared with friends, they could have seen things posted to a wider audience.”

Although, Facebook’s data confirmed that 83% of people had only one person on their block list unlocked due to the bug. Now Facebook has fixed the issue. Egan stated – “Everyone has been blocked again.” If you are one of the users from 800,000 accounts affected by the bug then you might have received a notification asking to double-check your block list.

Facebook-bug-unblocks-blocked-users

Unblocking blocked people from the user’s account without their consent is a major mistake done by Facebook. Facebook is still recovering from the Cambridge Analytica Scandal and now this bug issue made users more concerned about their privacy. Due to this bug, unblocked users were able to send messages to people who were not allowed earlier due to having their name on the block list.  According to Facebook, the bug did not restore any friend connections on the social network.

Whenever you block someone, they can’t see any of your posts. People usually block some users to stay away from online bullying and harassments. If you have not been aware of the ability to block someone you find annoying on Facebook then now you can go the Facebook’s security settings and block any Facebook user. For more information, you can check out Facebook’s safety site.

Tags

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close